Перейти к основному содержимому

Academic Periodical

The Quarterly Journal of St. Philaret’s Institute

Issue 5 (spring 2012)

SFI ACADEMIC PERIODICAL “THE LIGHT OF CHRIST ENLIGHTENS ALL”. ISSUE 5

SFI ACADEMIC PERIODICAL “THE LIGHT OF CHRIST ENLIGHTENS ALL”. ISSUE 5

The Light of Christ Enlightens All : Academic periodical of St. Philaret's Christian Orthodox Institute. Issue 5. Moscow : St. Philaret's Christian Orthodox Institute, 2012. 176 p.

From the Editor
Pp. 6 – 7 

Works of SFI Lecturers

Konstantin Obozny, PhD in History
The Point of Bifurcation: The Orthodox Church in Soviet Russia at the Historic Turning Point of the 1940s (as Experienced in the Northwestern Regions of the Country)
pp. 9 – 35
The aim of the present sketch is to demythologize the so-called “new course” of Stalin’s Church policies in the period from 1943 to 1949. Drawing on archival research as well as on published sources, the author has made use of the scientific concept of synergetics in seeking to determine the turning point in the history of the Orthodox Church in Soviet Russia. The point of bifurcation, the event that effected a fundamental change in the subsequent historical development of the Russian Orthodox Church (Moscow Patriarchate) was the Council of Bishops of September 8, 1943 and the second restoration of the Patriarchate in Russia that it sanctioned. From that moment on not only outward Church revival started but also Stalin and the Soviet leadership began to actively involve the Church into their internal and external plans.
Keywords:  point of bifurcation, synergetics, fluctuation, Procurator-General of the Holy Synod, Patriarch of Moscow and All Russia, Council for Russian Orthodox Church Affairs, Commissioner of the Council for Russian Orthodox Church Affairs.
Natalya Ignatovitch
Christian Education in Schools of N. N. Neplyuev in Late XIX — Early XX Century
pp. 36 – 65 
The article reviews the practice of Christian upbringing at one of educational centers of the pre-Revolutionary Russia — the primary agricultural school of Nickolay Nickolayevich Neplyuev (1851–1908) at Vozdvizhensk. Pedagogical system which existed there was really unique. However, in Soviet times Neplyuev’s heritage was buried to oblivion. Nowadays his activities are knowledge only to a narrow circle of specialists. Today when both parents and the church face the acute problem of Christian upbringing of children, analyses of the unique experience of the school is of urgent importance. In the article special attention is attracted to the aims and principles of Neplyuev’s pedagogy and to the results of educational activities of his school.
Keywords: Nickolay Neplyuev, Vozdvizhensk school, the Holy Cross Labour Brotherhood, pedagogy, Christian upbringing, education, Christianity.
Olga Slyozkina
Problems of the Synod Internal Mission Missionaries’ Activities (According to “Missionary Review” Magazine Materials of 1896–1916)
pp. 66 – 94
The article presents a short review of the Russian internal mission’ s problems according to materials of “Missionary Review” magazine of 1896–1916. The magazine was an official periodical of the Synod internal mission, which was established in the first half of the XIX century to fight schism and sectarianism. Special interviews where “objects of the mission” were often summoned with police force became the main form of missionary activity. After the Toleration Act of 1905, the Internal mission in part switched to enlightenment of formal Orthodox Christians. The analysis of problems and mistakes of the internal mission in the XIX —early XX century may be helpful in making today’s mission more fruitful.
Keywords: missionary review, missionary, internal mission, anti-sectarian, magazine, polemic-apologetic magazine, internal mission magazine, Skvortsov Vladimir Mikhailovich.

Student Works at SFI's Department of Church History

Olga Cherenkova
The Polemic about the Attitude to Heretics in Russian Church in the First Third of the XVI Century
pp. 97 – 109 
In the history of the Russian Orthodox church the first third of the XVI century was marked by the sharp arguments between two theological-practical tenors. One of them was represented by Vassian Patrikeev and the elders (startsy) from over the Volga, the other by Iosif Volotskii and the Metropolitan of Moscow Daniil. Guiding by the recent analytical investigations the author reconstructs a part of the arguments, the polemic about the church attitude to heretics that brought the attention of the church to the responsibility of pastors (including bishops and the Metropolitan) for the heretics’ conversation, their torments and death, for the sufferings of the common Christians. As the result of Iosif followers’ victory and the forced closure of the polemic, the raised problem was not solved. At the same time the polemic displayed that the way of the solution was bringing the practice of church life in correspondence with its evangelic norms.
Keywords: polemic, heretic, death penalty, Abbot Iosif of the Volokolamsk Monastery (Iosif Volotsky), Vassian Patrikeev, Metropolitan Daniil, kormchaia = the book of Canons.
Olga Philippova
Analysis of “Responses of the Diocesan Bishops on the Issue of Church Reform” (1905–1906) in relation to Parish Development and Improvements
pp. 110 – 130 
The article presents an overview of opinions of bishops of the Russian Orthodox Church at the turn of the XIX–XX century on reasons of parish decline. Special attention is attributed to the question of parish reform and tendencies which influenced the discussions and elaboration of the Parish Regulation of the Local Council in 1917–1918. The attempts of the bishops to define “parish” and their proposals on the revival of parish life are of great interest. In the article general overview of the document under scrutiny and brief characteristics of the clergy at the beginning of the XX century is given.
Keywords: bishop, parish, brotherhood, reform, catholicity, pre-Council discussion of 1906, Council of 1917–1918.
Zoya Dashevskaya
Overview of Activity of the Fraternity Sts Peter, Alexis, Iona and Philip, Metropolitans of Moscow (1909–1917)
pp. 131 – 150 
The article analyses activity of Moscow interparish Fraternity Sts Peter, Alexis, Iona and Philip, Metropolitans of Moscow. It was created at the end of 1909 and existed until 1917–1918. The Fraternity differed from many other parish fraternities by its aims, membership and forms of activity. It united people of traditional piety who craved “revival of the origins of catholicity (sobornost) on the basis of a living church relationship between a bishop, clergy and laymen”. The focus of attention for the Fraternity was vital problems of church life: recovery of sobornost, involvement of laymen into divine service and church charity. Members of the Fraternity were actively involved into preparations of the Local Council of the Russian Orthodox Church. The most enthusiastic summoned up church forces to fight against persecutions of the atheistic regime.
Keywords: Fraternity, F. D. Samarin, A. D. Samarin, sobornost, laymen, parish, divine service, Council of 1917–1918.
Anna Ksandopulo
«New Course» (1943–1953) in Relations between the State and the Church: the Case of Tula Diocese
pp. 151 – 174
The article reviews milestone events in the life of Tula diocese of the Russian Orthodox Church in the context of new relations between the state and the church (so-called «New Course») during the period from 1943 to 1953. The author tries to analyze and comprehend regional aspect of the «New Course» compared to the events which were happening in the top echelon of power. The research is based on documents from the local archives, many of which have been introduced into scientific use for the first time. These materials help to better understand mechanisms behind the processes the Soviet machine tried to manipulate the Russian Orthodox Church, and how the church, overcoming compromises, was getting out of the state of crisis after unprecedented persecutions of the 1920s–1930s.
Keywords: church-state relations, «New Course», Authorized Representative for the Russian Orthodox Church affairs, anti religion campaign, Tula diocese, opening of churches, revival of church structure.
Contacts
SFI Invoice Details

INN (Taxpayer Identification Number): 7701165500
KPP (Tax Registration Reason Code): 770101001
OKTMO Code (Russian National Classification of Municipal Territories): 45375000
‘Sberbank of Russia’ Public Company
Operating account: 40703810838120100621
Offsetting account: 30101810400000000225
BIC (Bank Identification Code): 044525225

Licenses

Government Accreditation Certificate, AA no. 2015 d. 16/06/2016
Federal Education and Science Supervision Authority License no. 2051 d. 01/04/2016
Department for Religious Education and Catechesis of Moscow Patriarchate License no. 09-5635-5 dd. 21/01/2009

Перейти к основному содержимому

Выпуск 5 (май 2012)

Альманах СФИ «Свет Христов просвещает всех». Выпуск 5

Альманах СФИ «Свет Христов просвещает всех». Выпуск 5

Свет Христов просвещает всех : Альманах Свято-Филаретовского православно-христианского института. Выпуск 5. М. : Свято-Филаретовский православно-христианский институт, 2012. - 176 с.

Труды преподавателей СФИ

Константин Обозный, кандидат исторических наук
Точка бифуркации: православная церковь в советской России на историческом переломе 1940-х гг. (на примере северо-западных областей)
С. 9 – 35
В статье ставится задача демифологизации «нового курса» сталинской церковной политики в 1943–1949 гг. Используя естественнонаучные концепции синергетики, автор на основе архивных документов и опубликованных источников пытается проанализировать переломный момент в истории православной церкви в СССР. Точкой бифуркации, т. е. событием кардинально изменившим дальнейший ход исторического развития РПЦ МП, стал собор епископов 8 сентября 1943 года и второе восстановление патриаршества. С этого момента начинается не только внешнее церковное возрождение, но и активное использование церкви во внутри- и внешнеполитических замыслах Сталина и советского руководства.
Наталия Игнатович
Христианское воспитание в школах Н. Н. Неплюева в конце XIX — начале XX века
С. 36 – 65 
В статье рассмотрен опыт христианского воспитания в одном из учебных заведений дореволюционной России — Воздвиженской низшей сельскохозяйственной школе Николая Николаевича Неплюева (1851–1908). Сложившаяся в ней педагогическая система была поистине уникальной, однако в настоящее время она известна лишь узкому кругу специалистов: в советские годы наследие Н. Н. Неплюева было предано забвению. Сегодня, когда перед родителями и церковью остро стоит проблема христианского воспитания детей, опыт Воздвиженской школы особенно актуален. Специальное внимание уделено целям и принципам педагогики Н. Н. Неплюева, а также результатам воспитательной деятельности в его школах.
Ольга Слезкина
Проблемы деятельности миссионеров синодальной внутренней миссии (по материалам журнала «Миссионерское обозрение» за 1896–1916 гг.)
С. 66 – 94
Статья посвящена краткому обзору проблем внутренней миссии в России по материалам журнала «Миссионерское обозрение» за 1896–1916 гг. Журнал являлся официальным изданием синодальной внутренней миссии, учрежденной в первой половине XIX в. для борьбы с расколом и сектантством. Главной формой этой миссии с 1860-х гг. стали особые собеседования, к которым «объекты миссии» нередко привлекались при помощи полицейской силы. После выхода в свет в 1905 г. Указа о веротерпимости произошла частичная переориентация внутренней миссии на просвещение номинальных православных. Анализ проблем и ошибок внутренней миссии XIX — начала XX в. может помочь в ведении более плодотворной миссии в настоящее время.

Работы студентов СФИ по кафедре церковно-исторических дисциплин

Ольга Черенкова
Полемика в Русской церкви первой трети XVI столетия об отношении к еретикам
С. 97 – 109 
Первая треть XVI века отмечена в истории Русской православной церкви острыми спорами между двумя богословско-практическими течениями, представленными с одной стороны Вассианом Патрикеевым и заволжскими старцами, с другой — Иосифом Волоцким и митрополитом Московским Даниилом. Опираясь на последние аналитические исследования, автор реконструирует одно из направлений этих споров — полемику об отношении церкви к еретикам, которая поставила вопрос об ответственности пастырей (в том числе епископов и митрополита) за обращение еретиков, за их мучения и смерть, за страдания простых христиан. В результате победы «иосифлян» и вынужденного прекращения полемики поднятая ею проблема не была разрешена. В то же время сама эта полемика показала, что путем ее решения является приведение практики жизни церкви в соответствие с евангельскими нормами.
Ключевые слова: полемика, еретик, смертная казнь, Иосиф Волоцкий, Вассиан Патрикеев, митрополит Даниил, кормчая.
Зоя Дашевская
Обзор деятельности Братства Святителей Московских Петра, Алексия, Ионы и Филиппа (1909–1917 гг.)
С. 131 – 150 
В статье рассматривается деятельность московского межприходского Братства Святителей Московских Петра, Алексия, Ионы и Филиппа, которое было образовано в конце 1909 г. и просуществовало до 1917–1918 годов. Братство отличалось от множества приходских братств своими целями, составом и формами деятельности, объединяя людей традиционного благочестия, жаждавших «возрождения начал соборности на основе живого церковного общения епископа, клира и мирян». В центре внимания Братства находились насущные вопросы жизни церкви — восстановление соборности, вовлечение мирян в богослужение и церковную благотворительность. Члены Братства активно участвовали в подготовке Поместного собора Российской церкви, наиболее деятельные из них собирали силы церкви для противостояния гонениям безбожной власти.
Ключевые слова: братство, Ф. Д. Самарин, А. Д. Самарин, соборность, миряне, приход, богослужение, Поместный собор 1917–1918 гг.
Анна Ксандопуло
«Новый курс» 1943–1953 гг. в отношениях между государством и церковью на примере Тульской епархии
С. 151 – 174
В статье рассмотрены основные вехи жизни Тульской епархии Русской православной церкви в контексте новых отношений с государством (так называемого «нового курса») в период с 1943 по 1953 год. В ней сделана попытка анализа и осмысления регионального аспекта «нового курса» в сравнении с событиями, происходившими в высших эшелонах власти. Для этого были использованы документы региональных архивов, многие из которых впервые вводятся в научный оборот. Данные материалы помогают лучше понять механизмы процессов, посредством которых советский госаппарат пытался манипулировать РПЦ, а также то, как церковь, преодолевая компромиссы, выходила из состояния кризиса после беспрецедентных гонений 1920–1930-х годов.
Ключевые слова: церковно-государственные отношения, «новый курс», уполномоченный Совета по делам РПЦ, антирелигиозная кампания, Тульская епархия, открытие храмов, возрождение церковной структуры.

Подпишитесь на нашу почтовую рассылку

In English
Социальные сети
Контакты
Лицензии

Свидетельство о государственной аккредитации № 2015 от 16 июня 2016 года
Лицензия № 2051 Федеральной службы по надзору в сфере образования и науки от 01.04.2016
Представление Отдела религиозного образования и катехизации Московской Патриархии № 09-5635-5 от 21.01.2009

Все документы
Реквизиты СФИ

ИНН: 7701165500, КПП: 770101001
Код ОКТМО 45375000
ПАО «Сбербанк России»
P/сч: 40703810838120100621
К/сч: 30101810400000000225
БИК: 044525225