Перейти к основному содержимому

Academic Periodical

The Quarterly Journal of St. Philaret’s Institute

Issue 13 (winter 2015)

The present issue comprises articles on church history.

SFI ACADEMIC PERIODICAL “THE LIGHT OF CHRIST ENLIGHTENS ALL”. ISSUE 13

SFI ACADEMIC PERIODICAL “THE LIGHT OF CHRIST ENLIGHTENS ALL”. ISSUE 13

The Light of Christ Enlightens All : Academic periodical of St. Philaret's Christian Orthodox Institute. Issue 13. Moscow : Moscow : St. Philaret's Christian Orthodox Institute, 2015. 152 p.

Table of Contents

On the Centenary of the 1917–1918 Local Church Council

Tatyana Krylova
Theology education reform proposals at the turn of the XX century based on the analysis of “Diocesan Bishops on Church Reform”
pp. 11-29
The author of the article makes an attempt at systematising proposals for reforming college- and university-level theology education. “Diocesan Bishops on Church Reform” was published in 1906 in St. Petersburg, ahead of the reform discussion at the 1917–1918 Local Council. When the Bolsheviks came to power, theology schools faced an uncertain future, meaning that theology education entered the Soviet era unreformed. Following the 1994 Bishops’ Council, the Russian Orthodox Church reopened the discussion on the subject of reforming theology education. “Diocesan Bishops on Church Reform” is a valuable source, as it reflects the full range of reform programmes existing at the time.
Keywords: Diocesan Bishops on Church Reform, theology education reform, theology school regulations, 1917–1918 Local Council.
Olga Filippova
The issue of defining the “parish” concept as discussed prior to and during the 1917–1918 Local Council
pp. 30-40
The article analyses the search for the scope of the “parish” concept as part of the discussions prior to and during the 1917–1918 Local Council. The debators considered this a search for a way of expressing the spirit of sobornost. For instance, in the beginning of the XX century, a parish could also be called “domestic church”, “community”, “establishment”, “fundamental group unit of the church society”, “patronage” and “brotherhood”. The most heated discussion unfolded between those who attempted to define the parish using the concept “domestic church” (meaning a congregation of believers) and “God-ascertained establishment”, where the parishioners and the clergy were considered secondary to the parish church. The outcome of the discussions prior to and during the 1917–1918 Local Council was a favoured idea, namely a model where a parish community was associated with a parish church.
Keywords: parish, community, patronage, brotherhood, παροικία, sobornost, parish “models”, discussion, Pre-Council Committee, 1917–1918 Local Council.

Spiritual Movements, Unions and Brotherhoods

Natalia Ignatovich
Nikolay Nikolaevitch Neplyuev’s Idea of Creating a Pan-Russian Brotherhood
pp. 43-57
The article outlines the concept of the Pan-Russian Brotherhood that the renowned early XX century Russian Christian luminary Nikolay Nikolaevich Neplyuev (1851–1908) promoted in his writings and when speaking to the public. The Brotherhood’s main objective would be to consolidate and channel any healthy social effort in Russia towards fostering unity and creativity in the context of stronger revolutionary sentiments. However, the project was never carried out. The article’s author considers the distinctive characteristics N. N. Neplyuev attributed to the Pan-Russian Brotherhood and gives an account of the attempts he made at its foundation.
Keywords: Nikolay Neplyuev, Pan-Russian Brotherhood, Orthodox Christianity, penance.
Olga Borisova
“Sparks of Humble Martyrdom”: on the History of the 1920–1930s Moscow Church Circles 
pp. 58-70
The article focuses on two significant Moscow church circles that brought together believers (mostly intellectuals) of the 1920 –1930s. At the time when the church was being persecuted by the state, those circles produced a whole host of confessors, who were part of the Maroseika community and the circle of believing intellectuals gathered around the Holy Trinity St. Sergius Lavra.  The latest research has revealed that the two spiritual groups were closely associated with each other and formed one tighly-knit circle of people sharing a spiritual connection. It appears that the historical magnitude of Frs. Alexei and Sergius Mechev for the XX century Russian Orthodox Church is yet to be fully appreciated and requires further in-depth study.
Keywords: profession of faith, community, arrest, Maroseika, the Holy Trinity St. Sergius Lavra.
Ulyana Goutner
Russian Student Cristian Movement Conferences as а Manifestation of Orthodox Church Sobornost
pp. 71-85
The article presents the history of RSCM as an example of sobornost revival in the early XX century Orthodox Church. The First RSCM conference in Prerov defined the framework for all RSCM activities and further conferences. General and local RSCM conferences were marked with openly shared church fellowship and unity between laymen and the clergy. This unity was built up gradually through common effort and manifested itself in several ways: in personal fellowship between priests, professors and young RSCM members, through lectures and seminars, which revealed the depths of Orthodox spirituality, and in the Orthodox Liturgy as the focal point of sobornost. Celebrating communion at the end of these conferenсe-councils was their highest spiritual point.
Keywords: Russian Student Cristian Movement, Prerov conference, liturgical revival, spiritual education, sobornost.
Ivan Petrov
Repressions of the Russian Student Christian Movement in Estonia in 1940–1941
pp. 86-94
The Soviet repressions against Orthodox members of the Russian Student Christian Movement in Estonia in 1940–1941 are the subject of the article. The main phases of the repressions against the clergy and laity are illustrated by the actual life stories of three Movement members. The main body of research is based on files from the Estonian State Archive. The article is published as part of the series of articles and documentaries that tell the life stories of RSCM members in the XX century Baltic States. The series reopens the debate on the mechanism of Soviet repressions against Orthodox believers.
Keywords: Soviet repressions, RSCM, Estonia, Orthodox Church.
Alexandra Budanova
The Notions of Personhood and Community in the Pastoral Practices of Bishop Makariy (Opotsky)
pp. 97-108
The article considers the correlation between the notions of personhood and community in the writings and pastoral practices of Bishop Makariy (Opotsky), who founded a number of Orthodox brotherhoods across Russia at different times between 1908 and 1941. The research was made possible by the publication of Bishop Makariy’s addresses to the 1914 Diocesan Missionary Conference and by having access to one of his spiritual daughters’ personal archive where she stored his numerous talks and sermons. In them, he had processed the notions of both
personhood and community.
Keywords: personhood, community, brotherhood, unity, church.
Galina Lozhkova
Protopresbyter Vitaly Borovoy’s Church Ministry in the Context of the 1930 –1950s Historical Events
pp. 109-121
Protopresbyter Vitaly Borovoy is known as an “academician of church experience”. He was a symbolic figure in the history of the XX century church and is remembered as a theologian, academic, seasoned diplomat, spiritual director, preacher and teacher. The article deals with the main areas of Protopresb. Vitaly Borovoy’s ministry in the first 30 years of his church life and service (1929–1959). This period is considered to be of particular interest as the time when Fr. Vitaly’s core beliefs and values were formed and his views on the church and the civil society took shape. Those years were equally formative for him as a spiritual director, teacher, church academic and diplomat.
Keywords: education, ministry, church, tradition, sermon, pastoral ministry, theology, unity.
Darya Makeeva
Metropolitan Nikodim (Rotov) of Leningrad and Novgorod’s Contribution to the Initiative by the Russian Orthodox Church (Moscow Patriarchate) to Establish Dialogue with Non-Orthodox Churches
pp. 122-134
The article explores the work of Nikodim (Rotov), Metropolitan of Leningrad and Novgorod, who grew up in the Soviet Union only to become the most influential church leader of his time. He was appointed Chairman of the Department for External Church Relations in July 1960, during one of the hardest stretches in the history of the Russian Orthodox Church (Moscow Patriarchate). At the age of the antireligious campaign for the abolition of the church and all church institutions, strict control by the Soviet state did not prevent Metropolitan Nikodim from establishing and fostering relationships with the Roman Catholic Church and numerous protestant churches. He was also able to facilitate the consilidation of the Russian Church’s position in the USSR.
Keywords: dialogue with non-Orthodox churches, Soviet state control, external relations, the Roman Catholic Church, protestant churches.

Post-Constantinian Church

Viktor Venglevich
Orthodox parishes in the XIX century Polish Kingdom (Case study: Radom Governorate)
pp. 137-147
The article analyses activities of the Orthodox parishes located in the Radom Governorate of the Polish Kingdom in the XIX — beginning of the XX. The article outlines a hypothesis explaining why Orthodox churches were built in areas populated exclusively by Roman Catholic Poles and Jews. Parish activities were examined in their various aspects: what churches were built, when and why they were built, what priests served in parishes, what they did and what cemeteries existed at the parishes.
Keywords: Poland, parishes, priests, Radom Governorate, XIX century.
Contacts
SFI Invoice Details

INN (Taxpayer Identification Number): 7701165500
KPP (Tax Registration Reason Code): 770101001
OKTMO Code (Russian National Classification of Municipal Territories): 45375000
‘Sberbank of Russia’ Public Company
Operating account: 40703810838120100621
Offsetting account: 30101810400000000225
BIC (Bank Identification Code): 044525225

Licenses

Government Accreditation Certificate, AA no. 2015 d. 16/06/2016
Federal Education and Science Supervision Authority License no. 2051 d. 01/04/2016
Department for Religious Education and Catechesis of Moscow Patriarchate License no. 09-5635-5 dd. 21/01/2009

Перейти к основному содержимому

Вестник СФИ

Свет Христов просвещает всех

Выпуск 13 (зима 2015)

Тринадцатый выпуск научного журнала «Свет Христов просвещает всех: Альманах Свято-Филаретовского православно-христианского института» включает статьи по церковной истории. 

Альманах СФИ «Свет Христов просвещает всех». Выпуск 13

Альманах СФИ «Свет Христов просвещает всех». Выпуск 13

Свет Христов просвещает всех : Альманах Свято-Филаретовского православно-христианского института. Выпуск 13. М. : Свято-Филаретовский православно-христианский институт, 2015. 152 с.

Содержание выпуска

К столетию Поместного собора 1917–1918 годов

В статье предпринята попытка систематизации предложений по реформированию духовной школы (среднего и высшего звена) на рубеже ХIХ–ХХ вв. В 1906 г. в Петербурге были изданы «Отзывы епархиальных архиереев по вопросу о церковной реформе», послужившие основой для обсуждения вопроса о проведении реформ в русской церкви на заседаниях Предсоборного присутствия в том же году, а впоследствии на Соборе 1917–1918 гг. Приход к власти большевиков поставил под вопрос само существование духовных школ, и в советский период духовное образование вошло не реформированным. После Архиерейского собора 1994 г. в Русской православной церкви вновь заговорили о реформе духовного образования. «Отзывы епархиальных архиереев» являются ценным источником, в котором представлен весь спектр существовавших на тот исторический момент программ.
Ключевые слова: Отзывы епархиальных архиереев, реформа духовного образования, уставы духовных школ, Поместный собор 1917–1918 гг.
В статье анализируется поиск объема понятия «приход» в ходе предсоборной дискуссии и на Поместном соборе 1917–1918 гг. Для участников полемики это был поиск пути воплощения духа соборности. Так, в начале ХХ в. Приход мог называться одновременно «малой церковью», «общиной», «учреждением», «основной ячейкой церковного общества», «попечительством» и «братством». Наиболее острая дискуссия развернулась между теми, кто пытался определить приход через понятия «малая церковь» (в смысле собрания верующих) и «от Бога установленное учреждение», в котором прихожане и причт мыслились вторичной составляющей по отношению к приходскому храму. В качестве предпочтительной идеи, предложенной в рамках Предсоборной дискуссии и на Соборе 1917–1918 гг., была выдвинута «модель» прихода общины, состоящей при приходской церкви.
Ключевые слова: приход, община, попечительство, братство, παροικία, cоборность, «модели» прихода, предсоборная дискуссия, Предсоборное присутствие, Поместный собор 1917–1918 гг.

Духовные движения, союзы и братства

В статье изложена идея Всероссийского Братства, прозвучавшая в сочинениях и публичных выступлениях широко известного в начале ХХ в. христианского мыслителя и деятеля Николая Неплюева (1851–1908). Задачей этого Братства должно было стать собирание всех здоровых сил российского общества для объединения и созидательной деятельности в условиях нарастающих революционных настроений. Однако этот проект так и остался нереализованным. Автором рассматриваются особенности Всероссийского Братства в понимании Неплюева и история предпринятых им попыток по его созданию.
Ключевые слова: Николай Неплюев, Всероссийское Братство, православие, покаяние.
В статье идет речь о двух значимых московских церковных кругах, собравших в 1920–1930-е гг. верующих людей, в основном интеллигенцию, которые в годы гонений на церковь со стороны государства дали целый сонм исповедников веры — это община на Маросейке и круг верующей интеллигенции, который собрала Троице-Сергиева лавра. Исследования последних лет свидетельствуют о том, что между двумя этими духовными центрами существовала тесная связь, это был единый круг людей, духовно близких друг другу. Представляется, что роль отца Алексия и отца Сергия Мечёвых в истории Русской православной церкви XX в. на сегодняшний день еще не оценена и требует более глубокого исследования.
Ключевые слова: исповедничество, община, Маросейка, Троице-Сергиева лавра.
В статье рассматривается вопрос возрождения соборности в Православной церкви на примере истории Русского студенческого христианского движения. Первый Пшеровский съезд РСХД стал важнейшим как для всей деятельности Движения, так и при проведении последующих съездов. Общие и региональные съезды РСХД проходили в свободном церковном общении, в единстве клира и мирян. Это единство созидалось постепенно, общими усилиями сразу в нескольких направлениях: в личном общении священства, руководителей и молодых членов Движения; в тематических докладах и семинарах, раскрывающих глубину Православия; в литургии как центре соборности. Общее причастие св. таинствам, завершающее съезды, становилось духовной вершиной съездов-соборов.
Ключевые слова: Русское студенческое христианское движение, Пшеровский съезд, литургическое возрождение, духовное просвещение, соборность.
В статье рассказывается о репрессиях советской власти против православных деятелей Русского студенческого христианского движения в Эстонии в 1940–1941 гг. на примере конкретных судеб трех участников Движения. Основными материалами для исследования послужили архивные дела, хранящиеся в Эстонском государственном архиве. Работа представляет собой продолжение публикации документальных материалов и статей 1 о судьбах деятелей РСХД в странах Балтии в XX столетии, которые вновь открывают дискуссию о механизме советских репрессий против верующих.
Ключевые слова: советские репрессии, РСХД, Эстония, православная церковь.
В статье рассматривается взаимосвязь понятий «личность» и «община» в писаниях и пастырской практике епископа Макария (Опоцкого) — создателя целого ряда православных братств, которые существовали на территории России с некоторыми перерывами с 1908 по 1941 г. Данная работа была возможна благодаря публикации докладов епископа Макария на съезде епархиальных миссионеров в 1914 г., а также, сохранившимся в личном архиве одной из его духовных дочерей многочисленным беседам и проповедям, где он осмысливал как понятие «личность», так и понятие « община».
Ключевые слова: личность, община, братство, единство, церковь.
Протопресвитера Виталия Борового называют «академиком церковного опыта», знаковой фигурой в истории церкви XX в., куда он вошел как богослов, ученый, опытный дипломат, пастырь, проповедник, учитель. В статье рассматриваются основные направления служения протопр. Виталия Борового в первые 30 лет его церковной жизни и деятельности — с 1929 по 1959 г. Этот период представляет особый интерес как время формирования духовно-мировоззренческих взглядов, церковной и гражданской позиции о. Виталия, становления его как пастыря, педагога, церковного ученого, дипломата.
Ключевые слова: образование, служение, церковь, традиция, проповедь, пастырство, богословие, единство.
Статья посвящена деятельности митрополита Ленинградского и Новгородского Никодима (Ротова) — епископа советской формации, самого влиятельного церковного деятеля своего времени. Он вступил в должность председателя Отдела внешних церковных сношений в июле 1960 г. Это был один из самых тяжелых периодов в истории Русской православной церкви (Московского Патриархата) — время антирелигиозной кампании, целью которой была полная ликвидация церкви и всех церковных институтов. Несмотря на жесткий контроль со стороны советского государства, митр. Никодиму удалось наладить и развить отношения с Римско-католической церковью и со многими протестантскими церквами, способствовать укреплению позиции Русской православной церкви в СССР.
Ключевые слова: диалог с инославными, контроль советского государства, внешние связи, Римско-католическая церковь, протестантские церкви.

Церковь в константиновский период истории

В статье описывается деятельность православных приходов, которые находились на территории Радомской губернии Польского Королевства в XIX и начале XX в., предложена гипотеза возникновения православных храмов на земле, где жили только поляки римско-католического вероисповедания или евреи. Исследованы различные аспекты жизни этих приходов: какие и когда церкви были построены, в связи с какими нуждами; какие священники там служили, чем они занимались; какие кладбища существовали при приходах.
Ключевые слова: Польша, приходы, священники, Радомская губерния, XIX век.
Контакты
Лицензии

Свидетельство о государственной аккредитации № 2015 от 16 июня 2016 года
Лицензия № 2051 Федеральной службы по надзору в сфере образования и науки от 01.04.2016
Представление Отдела религиозного образования и катехизации Московской Патриархии № 09-5635-5 от 21.01.2009

Все документы
Реквизиты СФИ

ИНН: 7701165500, КПП: 770101001
Код ОКТМО 45375000
ПАО Сбербанк
P/сч: 40703810838120100621
К/сч: 30101810400000000225
БИК: 044525225