Перейти к основному содержимому

Academic Periodical

The Quarterly Journal of St. Philaret’s Institute

Issue 12 (autumn 2014)

The present issue of 'The Light of Christ Enlightens All' Academic periodical of St. Philaret's Christian Orthodox Institute comprises articles on biblical studies, theology and liturgics.

SFI ACADEMIC PERIODICAL “THE LIGHT OF CHRIST ENLIGHTENS ALL”. ISSUE 12

SFI ACADEMIC PERIODICAL “THE LIGHT OF CHRIST ENLIGHTENS ALL”. ISSUE 12

The Light of Christ Enlightens All : Academic periodical of St. Philaret's Christian Orthodox Institute. Issue 12. Moscow : Moscow : St. Philaret's Christian Orthodox Institute, 2014. 152 p.

Table of Contents

Biblical Studies

Gleb Iastrebov
“Quest for the Historical Jesus”: Beyond the Impasse?
pp. 11–33
For the last few centuries, the Quest for the historical Jesus has attempted to go behind the Gospels and provide a historical reconstruction of a “real Jesus”. These attempts were not successful: Instead of a single reconstruction, scholars suggested dozens of mutually exclusive scenarios. One reason for the lack of consensus is the absence of clear methodological criteria. As a result, the contemporary Quest found itself in a deep crisis. Some scholars moved into total scepticism. At the same time, we witness a Renaissance of efforts in establishing the historical reliability of the Gospels: a number of exegetes managed to advance fresh arguments which bear enormous significance for mission and apologetics, as well as theology and biblical studies.
Keywords: Jesus, Quest for the historical Jesus, Gospels.
Alexey Somov, Doctor of Theology
Luke 9:7–9 in the Context of Jewish Views on the Afterlife
pp. 35–50
Three possible identifications of Jesus (9:7b–8) come up in the pericope discussed in this paper: he is supposed to be John the Baptist, Elijah, or one of the ancient prophets. These identifications deal with the prophetic element as well as with the possibility of a prophet redivivus and an otherworldly appearance. This article will argue that all these public opinions about Jesus reflect specific Jewish views on the individual’s afterlife that were widespread in the time Luke wrote his texts. This article analyzes several Jewish traditions that may form the background of the identifications mentioned and discovers possible connections with other passages from Luke’s writings which reveal Lucan own views on the afterlife.
Keywords: New Testament, Luke, Jesus, John the Baptist, Elijah, afterlife, Judaism.

Theology

Lidia Kroshkina
Hierarchism and Eldership in the Writings of the Apostolic Fathers
pp. 53–64
The article considers the relationship between pastors and lay people in the early church based on the sources closest to the Apostolic times that became known as the “Writings of the Apostolic Fathers”. These writings reflect a shift in the minds of Christians with regard to an essential church ministry. The concepts of “hierarchism” and “eldership” are juxtaposed on the basis of their onthological (in)equality. Hierarchism is associated with cosubordination, a fundamental separation between a pastor and his congregation and with his special status in this congregation. In accordance with the principle of universal priesthood, eldership is viewed as special responsibility resting on one of God’s flock for his/her brothers and sisters, and for the life of the whole congregation of the faithful.
Keywords: hierarchism, eldership, equality, bishop, presbyter, elder.
Olga Afanasieva
EschatologicalLife Focus of the Old Believer Communities on Vetka Island
pp. 65–80
The article offers an outline and analysis of the eschatological views held by certain Old Believer communities on Vetka Island and the resulting practices. Despite the visible explosion and establishment of a distinctive culture (Vetka icon painting, carving, decoration of hand-written books etc.), despite its susceptibility to influence of cultures distinct from it, despite the ability of the Vetka communities to self-direct and take on responsibility within the church, despite their aspiration to transform the earthly reality by lifting it up to a heavenly ideal, they still remained committed to stereotypical life models, which resulted in identifying the historical order with the mystical order of the Kingdom of Heaven.
Keywords: eschatology, Old Belief, community, schism, salvation, education, rite, Vetka Island.

Liturgics

Natalia Kushnir
Special Aspects of Deaconesses’ Ministry in the Context of Their Liturgical Ordination 
pp. 83–102
The article analyses various liturgical practices for ordination of deaconesses. Analysing the content and ritual aspects of these ordination practices is aimed at identifying the ministries delivered by deaconesses who were ordained using different practices at different times across Eastern and Western Christian churches. Structural and content analysis of ordination practices along with analysis of their ritual aspects highlight several ministries varying in their specific aspects and focus from one church to another depending on the historical era.
Keywords: deaconesses, ministry, ordination, chirotesy, chirotony, catechesis, monasticism, virgins, widows.
Marina Verkhovskaya
Personal Prayer Rule in the Liturgical Practice of the Russian Orthodox Church
pp. 103–126
The subject of the article is the personal prayer rule (the ordinance of morning and evening prayers as given in prayer books) and the history of its origin. The author attempts to analyse the personal prayer rule in its structure, body, type and the content of component prayers, and to juxtapose daily personal prayer and communal worship. The research was aimed at identifying the place of the personal prayer rule in the Russian Orthodox Church’s daily practice and considering the individual (private) and the church-wide aspects of a personal prayer practice.
Keywords: personal prayer rule, daily prayer, communal and private worship.
Valentina Saveskul
Aspects of Meaning in Apotaxis and Syntaxis
pp. 127–147
The article examines the subject matter of apotaxis and syntaxis. The three pivotal aspects of meaning in apotaxis and syntaxis, as based on the analysis of works by ancient catechists, Teachers of the Church and XIX–XX century researchers, are: 1) confirmation of the catechumen’s repentance and life transformation, both of which are prerequisite to baptism; 2) the last exorcism, which is carried out by the catechumen; 3) taking vows of loyalty to God, the breaking of which annuls the baptism.
Keywords: apotaxis and syntaxis, catechesis, baptism, pre-baptism repentance, exorcism, baptismal vows.
Contacts
SFI Invoice Details

INN (Taxpayer Identification Number): 7701165500
KPP (Tax Registration Reason Code): 770101001
OKTMO Code (Russian National Classification of Municipal Territories): 45375000
‘Sberbank of Russia’ Public Company
Operating account: 40703810838120100621
Offsetting account: 30101810400000000225
BIC (Bank Identification Code): 044525225

Licenses

Government Accreditation Certificate, AA no. 2015 d. 16/06/2016
Federal Education and Science Supervision Authority License no. 2051 d. 01/04/2016
Department for Religious Education and Catechesis of Moscow Patriarchate License no. 09-5635-5 dd. 21/01/2009

Перейти к основному содержимому

Выпуск 12 (осень 2014)

В двенадцатый выпуск Альманаха Свято-Филаретовского православно-христианского института вошли статьи по библеистике, богословию и литургике.

Альманах СФИ «Свет Христов просвещает всех». Выпуск 12

Альманах СФИ «Свет Христов просвещает всех». Выпуск 12

Альманах СФИ «Свет Христов просвещает всех». 2014. Вып. 12. 152 с.

Содержание выпуска

Библеистика

С. 11–33
На протяжении последних веков так называемый «поиск исторического Иисуса», представляющий собой попытку реконструкции личности Христа, неоднократно предлагал иную версию жизни Спасителя, чем та, которая описана в евангелиях. Успехом эти попытки не увенчались: вместо единого альтернативного сценария появились десятки взаимоисключающих версий. Эта разноголосица обусловлена отсутствием четких методологических критериев. В результате к началу XXI века «поиск» оказался в глубоком кризисе. Некоторых учёных этот кризис подтолкнул к тотальному скептицизму. Однако современная эпоха ознаменовалась и ренессансом трудов по реабилитации исторической достоверности евангелий: комментаторам удалось предложить свежие доводы, имеющие исключительно важное значение не только для теологии и библеистики, но и для миссии и апологетики.
Ключевые слова: Иисус, поиск исторического Иисуса, евангелия.
С. 35–50
В рассматриваемом отрывке перечисляются три основных слуха об Иисусе, распространенные среди народа (Лк 9:7b–8): в Нём видят Иоанна Крестителя, Илию или одного из пророков. Здесь явно прослеживается отождествление Иисуса с пророком, а также возможность воскресения пророка и явление из другого мира. Статья показывает, что все эти слухи об Иисусе отражают бытовавшие в это время иудейские воззрения на посмертную участь. Будут анализироваться некоторые иудейские предания, которые могут лежать в основе рассматриваемых трех мнений об Иисусе, и возможные связи с другими отрывками из писаний Луки, в которых прослеживается его отношение к теме посмертной участи. 
Ключевые слова: Новый завет, Лука, Иисус, Иоанн Креститель, Илия, посмертная участь, иудаизм.

Богословие

С. 53–64
В статье рассматриваются отношения пастырей и мирян в ранней церкви по текстам ближайших к апостольским временам источников – так называемым писаниям мужей апостольских. Принципы иерархизма и старшинства, которые могут быть в основе этих отношений, различаются на основании онтологического неравенства/равенства. Иерархизм характеризуется отношениями соподчиненности, принципиальной отделенности пастыря от паствы, его особым положением в собрании. Старшинство, на основании учения о всеобщем священстве, понимается как особая ответственность находящегося в стаде Божьем за своих братьев и сестёр и за жизнь всего собрания верных.
Ключевые слова: иерархизм, старшинство, равенство, епископ, пресвитер, старший.
С. 65–80
В статье представлена попытка описания и анализа эсхатологических воззрений отдельных старообрядческих общин ветковского согласия и их осуществления на практике. При видимом расцвете и оформлении самобытной культуры: ветковской иконописи, резьбы, украшения рукописной книги и т. д., при восприимчивости к отличным от нее культурным влияниям, при способности к самоуправлению и церковной ответственности, при стремлении преображения земной реальности в возведении её к небесному идеалу, ветковские общины всё же остались привержены стереотипным формам жизни, что повлекло за собой отождествление исторического порядка с мистическим порядком Царства Божьего.
Ключевые слова: эсхатология, старообрядчество, община, раскол, спасение, образование, обряд, ветковское согласие.

Литургика

С. 83–102
В статье рассмотрены различные чины литургического поставления дьяконисс. Целью изучения чинов с точки зрения их содержания и обрядовой стороны было определение области служения дьяконисс в различные периоды существования чина в Восточной и Западной христианских церквах. Анализ структуры и содержания чинов, а также их обрядовой стороны выявляет несколько областей служения, имеющих характерные особенности и акценты в различных церквах в зависимости от исторической эпохи.
Ключевые слова: дьякониссы, служение, поставление, хиротесия, хиротония, катехизация, монашество, девы, вдовы.
С. 103–126
Статья Марины Верховской посвящена анализу последования личного молитвенного правила, принятого в Русской православной церкви, с точки зрения его структуры, состава, характера и содержания входящих в него молитв. Проведённое исследование показывает, что данное правило отражает расхождение частной молитвенной практики с принятым общецерковным порядком богослужения и имеет ряд существенных недостатков. Вопрос ежедневной молитвы православного христианина, особенно в соотнесении с молитвой Церкви, остаётся актуальным и требует дальнейшего пастырского, богословского, исторического и литургического исследования и осмысления.
Ключевые слова: личное молитвенное правило, ежедневная молитва, общественное и частное богослужение.
С. 127–147
В статье рассматривается смысловое наполнение чина отречения от сатаны и сочетания со Христом. На основе анализа трудов отцов-катехетов и учителей Церкви, а также исследователей XIX–XXI веков в чине отречения и сочетания выделяются три важнейших смысловых аспекта: ı) подтверждение происшедшего покаяния и изменения жизни катехумена, которые являются обязательными условиями для крещения; 2) последний экзорцизм, совершаемый самим крещаемым; 3) принесение обетов верности Богу, нарушение которых равнозначно отмене крещения.
Ключевые слова: чин отречения от сатаны и сочетания со Христом, катехизация, крещение, предкрещальное покаяние, экзорцизм, крещальные обеты, присяга.
Контакты
Лицензии

Свидетельство о государственной аккредитации № 2015 от 16 июня 2016 года
Лицензия № 2051 Федеральной службы по надзору в сфере образования и науки от 01.04.2016
Представление Отдела религиозного образования и катехизации Московской Патриархии № 09-5635-5 от 21.01.2009

Все документы
Реквизиты СФИ

ИНН: 7701165500, КПП: 770101001
Код ОКТМО 45375000
ПАО Сбербанк
P/сч: 40703810838120100621
К/сч: 30101810400000000225
БИК: 044525225

Ситуационный центр Минобрнауки по COVID-2019 («Горячая линия» с 8:00 до 20:00 по московскому времени): +7 (495) 198-00-00