Перейти к основному содержимому

Academic Periodical

The Quarterly Journal of St. Philaret’s Institute

Issue 19 (summer 2016)

The present issue of SFI academic periodical comprises articles on liturgy, mission, church history.

SFI ACADEMIC PERIODICAL “THE LIGHT OF CHRIST ENLIGHTENS ALL”. ISSUE 19

SFI ACADEMIC PERIODICAL “THE LIGHT OF CHRIST ENLIGHTENS ALL”. ISSUE 19

The Light of Christ Enlightens All : Academic periodical of St. Philaret's Christian Orthodox Institute. Issue 19. Moscow : St. Philaret's Christian Orthodox Institute, 2016. 152 p.

Table of contents

Liturgy

Oxana Kudryashova
The Rites on the Eighth Day after Baptism and their History in Church Practice
pp. 9-25
The present liturgical study analyses the rites administered to the newly baptised on the eighth day after their baptism. The author inquires into the origin of the rites and their sequence, structure and composition. The rites are considered in terms of actions and prayers as the final phase of the sacraments of baptism and chrismation and as a spiritual stage of the neophyte’s entry into the Church. Their textual correlation to the ancient Christian sources is also investigated. Taking into account the relevance of these rites today, particular attention is paid to the participation of the church gathering and of the newly baptised. 
Keywords: baptism, washing off the Holy Chrism, seal, tonsure, eighth day, chrismation. 
Olga Maximova
Liturgical Actions within the Process of Initiating Catechumens into the Church in the III–VI Centuries 
pp. 26-48
In the III–VI centuries, from the moment of admission to the catechumenate till the end of the Bright Week, every significant order of service was accompanied by liturgical actions. In total, 48 different liturgical actions were identified. According to the correlation between the significance of an action and its liturgical text, these actions can be grouped into four categories: independent, equivalent to the accompanying prayers, auxiliary, and technical ones. In various local traditions and orders of service one and the same action can refer to different groups. The presence of such actions in orders of service impelled catechumens to stay sober and to see the connection between the learning and corporality. 
Keywords: liturgical actions, liturgical gestures, catechesis, corporality, worship, III–VI centuries. 
Elena-Alina Patrakova
Representation of Church Gathering in the Anointing of the Sick Ordinances (as Exemplified by Today’s Practice in the Russian and Romanian Orthodox Churches) 
pp. 49-58
The article addresses the current practice of administering the anointing of the sick in the Russian and Romanian Orthodox Churches. The author pays special attention to the fact that the meaning of this sacrament in the church people’s mentality was distorted, largely due to the loss of the interrelation between Eucharist and anointing of the sick. As a result, the individualistic, magical and consumerist attitudes towards this sacrament get widespread, producing a shift in emphasis from the church gathering to the substance of the sacrament. The liturgical sources suggest that without a church gathering the anointing of the sick, as well as the other sacraments, loses its initial meaning. 
Keywords: anointing of the sick, church gathering, history of worship, the Russian Orthodox Church, the Romanian Orthodox Church, liturgical sources, today’s practice. 

Mission

Valeria Loginova
The Russian Spiritual Mission in China in the Second Half of the XIX Century 
pp. 61-83
The article deals with the missionary activities of the Russian Spiritual Mission in China, a country with a specific culture, in the second half of the XIX century. The author describes a six-year experience of the XIV Spiritual Mission led by Archimandrite Gury (Karpov) (1858–1864) and the attempts by the posterior missions to continue these efforts until 1900 when the mission was crushed by the Boxer Rebellion and then revived in the early XX century. Particular attention is paid to analysing the role of the missionary’s personality in relation to the success of mission. 
Keywords: Russian Spiritual Mission, Beijing Mission, missionary work in China, catechesis, Albazinians, Archimandrite Gury (Karpov), Hieromonk Isaiah (Polikin). 
Larisa Yasonova
Actual Problems of the Orthodox Mission among Members of the Jehovah’s Witnesses Religious Organization in Modern Russia  
pp. 84-100
The collapse of the Soviet Union led to a serious spiritual crisis among many Russians. Quite a few of them responded to the missionary activity of Western preachers including Jehovah’s Witnesses. Orthodox believers who were not properly established in their faith were among them. The Orthodox Church could not but respond to the proselytising activity of the Jehovah’s Witnesses religious organization. In this article the author considers the current missionary work of the Russian Orthodox Church among members of this religious organization and identifies reasons behind the failure of the mission and ways to overcome the present crisis.  
Keywords: Jehovah’s witnesses, anti-sectarian struggle, proselytism, mission, dialogue. 

Church history

Maria Ozerskaya
Josephites and Followers of Metropolitan Kirill (Smirnov) Speaking on Sobornost in Church Administration and on the Eucharistic unity of the Russian Church
pp. 103-120
The article attempts to analyse and to compare the views of representatives of the two main branches of the rightist church opposition, Josephites’ and the followers of the Metropolitan Kirill (Smirnov), on the church policy of Metropolitan Sergius (Stragorodsky). The author demonstrates what exactly they considered as violations of the sobornost principle in Metropolitan Sergius’ church administration and why they broke Eucharistic communion with him. 
Keywords: Metropolitan Sergius’ 1927 Declaration, rightist church opposition, anti-Sergianists movement, the ‘Josephites’, followers of Metropolitan Kirill (Smirnov), Eucharistic unity, sobornost.   
Marina Chilikina
Boris Talantov and the Brotherhood of Vyatka Christians as an Experience of Church Resistance to Khrushchev’s Persecution of the Russian Orthodox Church
pp. 121-149
The article deals with the ecclesiastical activities undertaken from 1954 to 1971 by Boris Talantov, a layman from the city of Kirov (Vyatka). Boris Talantov was the organiser and inspirer of the brotherhood of Vyatka Christians on the territory of the Kirov diocese. According to the “Regulations of the Brotherhood”, its apologetic, educational and charitable activities were aimed at gathering believers together to fight for their legitimate rights and to protect churches from closing down. Boris Talantov led a petition campaign, wrote open letters to Nikita Khrushchev and Patriarch Alexey I as well as to the editorial boards of various newspapers and magazines. He sharply criticised the position of the Moscow Patriarchate in the midst of Khrushchev’s persecution against the church. Boris Talantov also was the author of a church reform project. 
Keywords: Russian Orthodox Church, church resistance, Boris Talantov, brotherhood of Vyatka Christians, protecting churches from closing down, believers’ rights protection, church reform project. 
Contacts
SFI Invoice Details

INN (Taxpayer Identification Number): 7701165500
KPP (Tax Registration Reason Code): 770101001
OKTMO Code (Russian National Classification of Municipal Territories): 45375000
‘Sberbank of Russia’ Public Company
Operating account: 40703810838120100621
Offsetting account: 30101810400000000225
BIC (Bank Identification Code): 044525225

Licenses

Government Accreditation Certificate, AA no. 2015 d. 16/06/2016
Federal Education and Science Supervision Authority License no. 2051 d. 01/04/2016
Department for Religious Education and Catechesis of Moscow Patriarchate License no. 09-5635-5 dd. 21/01/2009

Перейти к основному содержимому

Выпуск 19 (лето 2016)

В 19-й выпуск Альманаха СФИ вошли статьи по литургике, миссии и истории церкви.

АЛЬМАНАХ СФИ «СВЕТ ХРИСТОВ ПРОСВЕЩАЕТ ВСЕХ». Выпуск 19

АЛЬМАНАХ СФИ «СВЕТ ХРИСТОВ ПРОСВЕЩАЕТ ВСЕХ». Выпуск 19

Альманах СФИ «Свет Христов просвещает всех». 2016. Вып. 19. 152 с.

Содержание выпуска

Литургика

С. 9–25
Данное литургическое исследование посвящено изучению чинов, совершаемых над новокрещеным по прошествии восьми дней после крещения. В работе разбирается происхождение обрядов и порядок их совершения, структура и состав. Чины рассматриваются с точки зрения совершаемых действий и молитв как завершающий этап таинств крещения и миропомазания, как духовная ступень вхождения неофита в Церковь. Изучается их текстуальная связь с древнейшими христианскими источниками. Особое внимание уделено участию церковного собрания и самого новокрещеного в совершении чинов с учетом их актуальности сегодня.  
Ключевые слова: крещение, омовение, знаки мира, печать, пострижение, восьмой день, миропомазание.  
С. 26–48
В III–VI века в период от момента принятия в катехумены до завершения светлой седмицы каждое значимое чинопоследование сопровождалось литургическими действиями. Всего выявлено использование 48 различных литургических действий. Их можно объединить в четыре группы по соотношению значимости действия и сопутствующего ему литургического текста: самостоятельные, равнозначные с сопутствующими им молитвами, вспомогательные, технические. Одно и то же действие в разных поместных традициях и чинах может относиться к разным группам. Наличие таких действий в чинопоследованиях вынуждало катехумена бодрствовать и связывало на- учение с телесными ассоциациями.  
Ключевые слова: литургические действия, жесты литургические, катехизация, телесность, богослужение, III–VI вв.
С. 49–58
В статье рассматривается современная практика совершения елеосвящения в Русской и Румынской православной церквах. Особое внимание автор уделяет искажениям смысла этого таинства в церковном сознании, которые в значительной степени обусловлены утратой взаимосвязи между Евхаристией и елеосвящением. Это привело к широкому распространению индивидуалистического и магически-потребительского отношения к соборованию, в котором на первый план выходит вещество таинства, а не церковное собрание. Обращение к литургическим источникам позволяет заключить, что без участия церковного собрания елеосвящение, как и другие таинства, теряет свой изначальный смысл. 
Ключевые слова: елеосвящение, церковное собрание, история богослуже- ния, Русская православная церковь, Румынская православная церковь, литургические источники, современная практика. 

Миссия

С. 61–83
В статье исследуется деятельность Российской духовной миссии в Китае – стране со специфической культурой – во второй половине XIX века. Описывается шестилетний опыт 14-й духовной миссии под руководством архим. Гурия (Карпова) (1858–1864 гг.), а также попытки его воплощения последующими миссиями вплоть до 1900 года, когда миссия была разгромлена восстанием ихэтуаней и затем возрождена в начале XX века. Особое внимание уделено анализу роли личности миссионера в деле успеха миссии.  
Ключевые слова: Российская духовная миссия, Пекинская миссия, миссия в Китае, катехизация, албазинцы, архим. Гурий (Карпов), иером. Исаия (Поликин). 
С. 84–100
Распад СССР привел к серьезному духовному кризису многих россиян. На проповедь приехавших в Россию западных проповедников, в том числе и «свидетелей Иеговы», откликнулось немало потерявших жизненные ориентиры граждан, в том числе маловоцерковленных православных верующих. Церковь не могла не отреагировать на прозелитическую деятельность религиозной организации «Свидетели Иеговы». В статье рассмотрены существующие на се- годняшний день в РПЦ направления миссионерского делания по отношению к последователям данной религиозной организации, выявлены причины неудач миссии, а также способы выхода из создавшегося кризиса.
Ключевые слова: свидетели Иеговы, антисектантская борьба, прозелитизм, миссия, диалог.

История церкви

С. 103–120
В статье предпринята попытка проанализировать и сравнить взгляды представителей двух основных ветвей правой церковной оппозиции, иосифлян и последователей митр. Кирилла (Смирнова), на церковную политику митр. Сергия (Страгородского). Автор показывает, что именно они считали нарушениями принципа соборности в церковном управлении митр. Сергия и почему разорвали евхаристическое общение с ним. 
Ключевые слова: Декларация митрополита Сергия, правая церковная оп- позиция, движение непоминающих, иосифляне, круг последователей ми- трополита Кирилла (Смирнова), евхаристическое единство, соборность. 
С. 121–149
В статье рассматривается церковная деятельность Бориса Владимировича Талантова, мирянина из города Кирова (Вятки), которую он осуществлял с 1954 по 1971 год. Борис Владимирович был организатором и вдохновителем братства вятских христиан, существовавшего на территории Кировской епархии. Согласно «Уставу братства» его деятельность носила апологетический, просветительский, благотворительный характер и была направлена на объединение верующих в борьбе за их законные права, содействие защите храмов от закрытия. Б.В. Талантов возглавлял петиционную кампанию, писал письма в адрес Н.С. Хрущева, патриарха Алексия I, в различные издания газет и журналов, выступал с резкой критикой позиции Московской патриархии в разгар «хрущевских» гонений на церковь, разработал проект церковных реформ. 
Ключевые слова: Русская православная церковь, церковное сопротив- ление, Борис Владимирович Талантов, братство вятских христиан, защита храмов от закрытия, защита прав верующих, проект церковной реформы. 
Контакты
Лицензии

Свидетельство о государственной аккредитации № 2015 от 16 июня 2016 года
Лицензия № 2051 Федеральной службы по надзору в сфере образования и науки от 01.04.2016
Представление Отдела религиозного образования и катехизации Московской Патриархии № 09-5635-5 от 21.01.2009

Все документы
Реквизиты СФИ

ИНН: 7701165500, КПП: 770101001
Код ОКТМО 45375000
ПАО Сбербанк
P/сч: 40703810838120100621
К/сч: 30101810400000000225
БИК: 044525225

Ситуационный центр Минобрнауки по COVID-2019 («Горячая линия» с 8:00 до 20:00 по московскому времени): +7 (495) 198-00-00