Перейти к основному содержимому

Academic Periodical

The Quarterly Journal of St. Philaret’s Institute

Issue 11 (summer 2014)

The present issue of 'The Light of Christ Enlightens All' Academic periodical of St. Philaret's Christian Orthodox Institute comprises articles was elaborated by SFI's Department of Missiology, Catechetics and Homiletics. Traditionally, it brings together under one cover recent works of both lecturers and students. The current issues comprises articles on the theory and practice of catechesis as well as on the history and practice of mission.

SFI ACADEMIC PERIODICAL “THE LIGHT OF CHRIST ENLIGHTENS ALL”. ISSUE 11

SFI ACADEMIC PERIODICAL “THE LIGHT OF CHRIST ENLIGHTENS ALL”. ISSUE 11

The Light of Christ Enlightens All : Academic periodical of St. Philaret's Christian Orthodox Institute. Issue 11. Moscow : Moscow : St. Philaret's Christian Orthodox Institute, 2014. 136 p.

Table of Contents

Catechesis

Rev. Georgy Kochetkov, Magister (PhD) of Theology
Personal and Interpersonal Christian Anthropology. General Introduction
pp. 11–24
The article outlines some ideas that may be useful for a catechist assisting modern adults and sufficiently prepared catechumens with exploring relevant anthropological issues at the mystagogical stage of catechesis. The author attempts to summarise key anthropological views of the Holy Fathers, modern theologians and thinkers. This is particularly valuable considering that the Christian tradition does not have an anthropological doctrine or even a unified anthropological system. The approach presented in the article is different from all others in that it embraces both theoretical research and practical skills resulting from more than 30 years of catechetical experience.
Keywords: man, anthropology, christology, cataphatic theology, apophatic theology, individuality, face, personality, sobornost.
Vladimir Yakuntsev
Problem of Superstitious Beliefs Among Parishioners and Ways of Dispelling Them in the Process of Catechesis. Reflections of a Catechist Based on Practical Experience
pp. 25–36
The author analyses his long-term personal experience of providing catechetical instruction to the baptised and defines its main and most complex problem, i. e. superstitious beliefs among modern christened people. The article confirms that catechesis of previously baptised people requires the catechist to have a special focus not merely on firmly establishing the Orthodox faith but on standing against specific superstitions. The article examines the nature of superstitions and the distinction between superstitions and heresies. The focus is on the most common superstitious belief that sacraments are efficacious ex opere operato. This superstition encourages a particular kind of pietism characterised by a false hope of salvation. The holders of this superstitious belief have been nicknamed ‘zahozhane’ (‘drop-in Christians’). The author briefly reviews ways of overcoming the power of superstitions through revival of comprehensive patristic catechetical instruction for people prior to their baptism.
Keywords: catechesis, tradition, superstition, heresy, drop-in Christians.
Alexandra Budanova
The Consistency Principle As Realised in the Early Church Catechism
pp. 37–62
The author attempts to argue the integrated nature of the catechetical tradition by viewing it in light of the consistency principle. The article provides definitions of the principle and arguments in support of its significance and relevance based on writings by the Church Fathers such as St. Irenaeus of Lyons, St. Hyppolytus of Rome, St. Cyril of Jerusalem, St. John Chrysostom, St. Ambrose of Milan and St. Augustine, as well as by the Doctors of the Church such as Tertullian, Origen and Clement of Alexandria. Further, the article reviews application of the principl in theory and practice of catechesis.
Keywords: consistency principle, catechesis, catechisms, catechetical instruction, Church Fathers, Doctors of the Church.
Andrey Melnikov
Premarital Catechesis in the Context of Modern Church Pastoral Mission
pp. 63–72
The article focuses on the high priority aspect of the church pastoral mission, i. e. preparation of newly-weds for holy Matrimony. It examines prerequisites and reasons behind the high demand for this type of involvement of the Russian Orthodox Church with the society. The article analyses church guidelines for working with families in parishes. It also provides examples of premarital catechesis as practiced by parishes in some Russian Orthodox Church dioceses.
Keywords: family, Matrimony, preparation for marriage.

Mission

Dmitry Sidorov
Education of Ethnic Minorities as a Missionary Activity Illustrated by Writings and Practical Experience of Nikolay Ivanovich Ilminsky
pp. 75–89
The article reviews and analyses Nikolay Ivanovich Ilminsky’s educational missionary activities involving the indigenous population of Kazan. The mission was unique in that it was realised through education. Ilminsky applied new educational approaches and methods when working with local ethnic minorities; most importantly, instruction was offered in their native language and training was provided for those of them who wished to become teachers. Ilminsky also developed the framework for the Kryashen language based on the Cyrillic script instead of the traditional Arabic. Towards the end of the XIX century, Ilminsky pioneered and helped establish a whole network of ethnic minority schools as well as prominent higher education institutions training teachers for ethnic minority schools and priests for non-Russian parishes.
Keywords: mission, education, Kryashens, non-Russians, Kazan Kryashen Tatar school, of St. Gury Brotherhood. 
Marina Anisimova
Distinctive Aspects of Missionary Message in Writings and Life of Archimandrite Spyridon (Kislyakov) during His Prison Ministry (1901–1905)
pp. 90–100
The study focuses on Archimandrite Spyridon (Kislyakov), the widely known early XX century Russian missionary. The paper reviews the forms and methods of Archimandrite Spyridon’s evangelical activities during his prison ministry (1901–1905). This period is of particular interest because Archimandrite Spyridon not only delivered sermons at prisons of the Nerchinsk forced labour camp but also wrote them down. The objective of the study is to establish distinctive features of the prison ministry in the context of the early XX century before the revolution,
to review the main missionary goals and objectives of the prison ministry and to analyse the homiletic legacy resulting from Archimandrite Spyridon’s prison ministry at the Nerchinsk forced labour camp.
Keywords: mission, prison, prison system, Spyridon (Kislyakov), convict, sermon, missionary.
Igor Vlasenko
Antimission in the Russian Orthodox Church in the late XIX – early XX century (1887–1918) 
pp. 101–109
The dynamic evolution of schism and sectarinism in the XVII century prompted the Russian Orthodox Church to embark upon antimission. This was due to a number of reasons including indiginous religiousity coupled with ignorance and serious issues in clergy’s life and ministry. The church and the government fought schism mainly by administrative and police action. This type of antimission was inefficient and generally encouraged a plethora of new schismatic groups. The outcome was that, by 1905, circa 20 million people were members of religious
organisations and Old Beliver unions.
Keywords: antimission, schism, sects, Old Believers, Strigolniki, Baptists, repressions.
Olga Podkolzina
Distinctive Aspects of W. F. Marcinkowsky’s Missionary Message Delivered to Children and Youth in Early XX Century
pp. 110-123
The article analyses the missionary message delivered to children and youth by the distinguished and idiosyncratic early XX century preacher Wladimir Filimonovich Marcinkowsky (1884–1972). The paper briefly outlines the historical and church context of Marcinkowsky’s sermons and establishes the motivation for addressing his message to young people. The author attempts to identify the main subjects of his missionary message and to analyse the tools Marcinkowsky used in order to achieve his main objective, i.e. directing his young listeners towards Christ.
Keywords: mission, homily, children, youth, students’ Christian groups.
Maria Lavrenova
The Impact of the Russian Orthodox Church Local Council Decisions in 1917–1918 on Missionary Activities Across Parishes in the Tver Deanery of the Tver Diocese in 1991–2011
pp. 124–134 
The article analyses missionary activities of the Tver Deanery based on diocesan annual reports. The activities are evaluated according to the criteria established by the Local Council in 1917–1918. It becomes evident that the Tver Deanery’s missionary activities in their current state are inconsistent with these criteria. The assessment is based on the years 1991–2011. Since then the overall situation has changed somewhat.
Keywords: mission, parish, 1917–1918 Local Council, antisectarian activity, Tver Diocese.
Contacts
SFI Invoice Details

INN (Taxpayer Identification Number): 7701165500
KPP (Tax Registration Reason Code): 770101001
OKTMO Code (Russian National Classification of Municipal Territories): 45375000
‘Sberbank of Russia’ Public Company
Operating account: 40703810838120100621
Offsetting account: 30101810400000000225
BIC (Bank Identification Code): 044525225

Licenses

Government Accreditation Certificate, AA no. 2015 d. 16/06/2016
Federal Education and Science Supervision Authority License no. 2051 d. 01/04/2016
Department for Religious Education and Catechesis of Moscow Patriarchate License no. 09-5635-5 dd. 21/01/2009

Перейти к основному содержимому

Вестник СФИ

Свет Христов просвещает всех

Выпуск 11 (лето 2014)

Очередной выпуск Альманаха Свято-Филаретовского православно-христианского института подготовлен кафедрой миссиологии, катехетики и гомилетики. По традиции он включает как преподавательские, так и студенческие работы недавнего времени. В выпуске представлены работы по теории и практике катехизации, а также по истории и практике миссии.

Альманах СФИ «Свет Христов просвещает всех». Выпуск 11

Альманах СФИ «Свет Христов просвещает всех». Выпуск 11

Свет Христов просвещает всех : Альманах Свято-Филаретовского православно-христианского института. Выпуск 11. М. : Свято-Филаретовский православно-христианский институт, 2014. 136 с.

Содержание выпуска

Катехизация

С. 11–24
В статье представлены тезисы, которые могут служить катехизатору методической основой для раскрытия соответствующей темы по антропологии в рамках таинствоводственного этапа оглашения современных взрослых и достаточно подготовленных катехуменов. Автором предложена некая попытка синтеза основных антропологических мнений святых отцов и современных богословов и мыслителей, что представляет особую ценность в силу отсутствия в христианской традиции антропологического догмата и даже единой антропологической системы. Отличительной особенностью представленного подхода является сочетание в нем как теоретических разработок, так и практических навыков, основанных на более чем 30-летней практике проведения катехизации.
Ключевые слова: человек, антропология, христология, катафатика, апофатика, индивидуальность, лицо, личность, соборность.
С. 25–36
На основе анализа личной многолетней практики катехизации крещеных людей автор сформулировал основную и, одновременно, наиболее сложную для решения проблему — наличие суеверий в среде современного крещеного народа. В статье констатируется, что для оглашения крещеных необходимы специальные усилия катехизатора, направленные не только на утверждение правой веры, но и на борьбу с конкретными суевериями. 
Особо говорится о сути суеверия, о том, чем оно отличается от ереси, а также о самом распространенном суеверии: вере в действенность таинств ex opere operato. Данное суеверие рождает особый тип благочестия, который характеризуется ложной надеждой на спасение, и носители которого получили именование «захожане». Автор кратко описывает пути выхода из-под власти суеверий, которые он видит в возрождении полноценной святоотеческой докрещальной катехизации.
Ключевые слова: катехизация, традиция, суеверие, ересь, «захожане».
С. 37–62
В работе содержится попытка обоснования внутреннего единства катехизической традиции через призму принципа последовательности. В ней приводятся формулировки принципа, обоснования его важности и необходимости, подтвержденные высказываниями святых отцов (св. Иринея Лионского, св. Ипполита Римского, свт. Кирилла Иерусалимского, свт. Иоанна Златоуста, свт. Амвросия Медиоланского, блж. Августина) и учителей церкви (Тертуллиана, Оригена, Климента Александрийского), а также примеры его применения в теории и практике оглашения.
Ключевые слова:  принцип последовательности, катехизация, катехизисы, оглашение, огласительные поучения, отцы и учителя церкви.
Андрей Мельников
Предвенчальная катехизация в церковно-пастырском служении в современных условиях
С. 63–72
Статья посвящена актуальному вопросу церковно-пастырского служения – подготовке молодоженов к вступлению в церковный брак. Рассматриваются предпосылки и причины востребованности данного направления в социальной деятельности Русской православной церкви. Анализируются церковные 
нормативные документы, предписывающие работу с семьей на приходах. 
Приводятся примеры реализации предвенчальной катехизации на приходах в некоторых епархиях РПЦ.
Ключевые слова: семья, таинство венчания, подготовка к браку

Миссия

С. 75–89
Статья посвящена обзору и анализу просветительско-миссионерской деятельности Николая Ивановича Ильминского среди казанских инородцев. Особенностью этой миссии явилось то, что она осуществлялась через просвещение. Ильминский использовал новые подходы и методы в деле просвещения местных народов, основными из которых были использование родного языка и подготовка преподавателей из числа самих инородцев; он также заложил основы языка для кряшен, предложив вместо привычного арабского письма алфавит на кириллице. По инициативе и при содействии Н. И. Ильминского в последней трети XIX в. была создана целая сеть школ для детей-инородцев, открыты центральные (высшие) учебные заведения, 
готовившие учителей и преподавателей для инородческих школ и священников для инородческих приходов.
Ключевые слова: миссия, просвещение, кряшены, инородцы, Казанская крещено-татарская школа, Братство свт. Гурия.
С. 90–100
Данное исследование посвящено архимандриту Спиридону (Кислякову), широко известному русскому миссионеру начала XX века. В работе выявляются формы и методы проповеднической деятельности архимандрита Спиридона во время тюремного служения (1901–1905 гг.). Именно этот период представляет особый интерес, поскольку его проповеди, произнесенные в тюрьмах Нерчинской каторги, были им же записаны. В задачи работы входит определение особенностей тюремного служения в контексте дореволюционной эпохи начала XX в., рассмотрение основных миссионерских целей и задач тюремного служения, а также анализ проповеднического наследия архим. Спиридона за время его служения в тюрьмах Нерчинской каторги.
Ключевые слова: миссия, тюрьма, пенитенциарная система, Спиридон (Кисляков), каторжанин, проповедь, миссионер.
С. 101–109
Необходимость в контрмиссии возникла в Православной Российской церкви в XVII в. из-за активного развития раскольничества и сект. Этому было несколько причин, в том числе народные религиозность и, одновременно, 
невежество, серьезные недостатки в жизни и деятельности духовенства. Церковь и государство боролись с раскольниками в основном с помощью административно-полицейских мер. Подобная контрмиссия была малопродуктивна и зачастую приводила лишь к появлению новых многочисленных раскольнических образований. В результате к 1905 г. различные религиозные объединения и старообрядческие согласия в России объединяли до 20 млн человек.
Ключевые слова: контрмиссия, раскольничество, секты, старообрядцы, стригольники, баптисты, репрессии.
С. 110–123
В статье рассматривается опыт миссионерской проповеди детям и молодежи яркого самобытного проповедника первой половины XX века – Владимира Филимоновича Марцинковского (1884–1972). Кратко дается исторический, церковный контекст, на фоне которого звучала проповедь Владимира Филимоновича, выявляются причины, побуждавшие его обращаться с проповедью к подрастающему поколению. Сделана попытка выделить главные темы миссионерской проповеди и проанализировать, какими средствами 
Владимир Марцинковский пытался достичь ее цели – обращения юных слушателей к Христу.
Ключевые слова: миссия, проповедь, дети, молодежь, студенческие христианские кружки.
С. 124–134 
В статье на материале годовых епархиальных отчетов рассматривается миссионерская деятельность приходов Тверского благочиния. Эта деятельность оценивается исходя из критериев, установленных Поместным Собором 1917–1918 годов. При этом становится видно несоответствие современного состояния миссии в Тверском благочинии этим критериям. Речь идет о периоде с 1991 по 2011 гг., с тех пор общая ситуация несколько изменилась.
Ключевые слова: миссия, приход, Поместный Собор 1917–1918 гг., антисектантская деятельность, Тверская епархия.
Контакты
Лицензии

Свидетельство о государственной аккредитации № 2015 от 16 июня 2016 года
Лицензия № 2051 Федеральной службы по надзору в сфере образования и науки от 01.04.2016
Представление Отдела религиозного образования и катехизации Московской Патриархии № 09-5635-5 от 21.01.2009

Все документы
Реквизиты СФИ

ИНН: 7701165500, КПП: 770101001
Код ОКТМО 45375000
ПАО Сбербанк
P/сч: 40703810838120100621
К/сч: 30101810400000000225
БИК: 044525225