Перейти к основному содержимому

Greeting Message from Professor Petros Vassiliadis, President in Honour of CEMES

Петрос Василиадис, почетный профессор, президент CEMES, руководитель богословской программы аспирантуры Международного греческого университета

 

Читать по-русски

My warmest greetings to Fr. George, Rector of St. Philaret’s Christian Orthodox Institute, as well as all its faculty and the members of my beloved Transfiguration brotherhood, on the Assembly Day of their patron Saint, St. Philaret, Metropolitan of Moscow.

With great joy and scholarly satisfaction, I was informed that this year’s Assembly Day, November 19, 2019, dedicated to this great hierarch of the Russian Church and important saint of our Orthodox Church, will focus on his contribution to the biblical – and to some extend liturgical – renewal of our Church. If during the 19th century the least a responsible pastor and ecclesiastical leader could do was to make the word of God, through the translation of the Bible into Russian, available to his faithful into a language they can understand, nowadays, in the 21st century, the progress of the biblical scholarship is the least we can do to follow his legacy.

There are two elements that constitute the most urgent desiderata for the renewal of our contemporary Orthodox ecclesiastical life. And these two constitutive elements are what in fact substantially distinguish the essence and character of the Church from a legalistic secular institution (a result mostly of western scholasticism) and redefine her as a charismatic mystery, a "body of Christ", "people of God" and "communion of the Holy Spirit". These elements are: (a) the rediscovery of the word of God, of the gospel of Christ, recorded in the Bible, the matrix of Orthodox theology and life, scientifically of course validated and authentically interpreted; and (b) the rediscovery of the real and authentic meaning of the "Eucharistic event." These elements are known in the scientific field as "biblical" and "liturgical" renewal respectively.

The keynote address by Gleb Yastrebov “On the Development Paths of  Contemporary New Testament Studies,” touches one of the cornerstones of our Church’s missional responsibility, the biblical renewal. And SFI’s achievements , most notably in the series of ecclesiological conferences, which will be presented by the Vice-Rector for Academic Affairs, our colleague Larisa Musina, touches the other cornerstone, the liturgical renewal. Especially at a period in which your official Church has just rejected the idea of the minimum of an Orthodox liturgical renewal, the translation of the liturgy, even as an assisting measure that would certainly help the faithful comprehend the riches of our liturgical tradition.

Being one of the translators of the Bible into modern Greek, undergoing similar ordeal and reactions like St. Philaret, and instrumental in the setting up of the Synodical Commission on Liturgical Renewal of the Church of Greece, I feel more than privileged to be kindly requested to serve as a member of SFI Board of Trustees.

On behalf of my colleagues at the Center of Ecumenical, Missiological and Environmental Studies (CEMES), dedicated to another holy and pioneer hierarch, Metropolitan of Thessaloniki Panteleimon Papageorgiou, of blessed memory, and as the Director of the Inter-Orthodox Post-graduate Master Program on “Orthodox Ecumenical Theology” (MOET), which will eventually start this coming Spring Semester, also in a distance-learning form, I wholeheartedly send my greetings to the organizers and all the participants of this year’s Assembly Day of SFI.

Emeritus Professor Petros Vassiliadis 
President in Honour of CEMES 
Director of MOET of IHU, and
Member of SFI Board of Trustees 

Subscribe to our mailing list

По-русски
Contacts
SFI Invoice Details

INN (Taxpayer Identification Number): 7701165500
KPP (Tax Registration Reason Code): 770101001
OKTMO Code (Russian National Classification of Municipal Territories): 45375000
‘Sberbank of Russia’ Public Company
Operating account: 40703810838120100621
Offsetting account: 30101810400000000225
BIC (Bank Identification Code): 044525225

Licenses

Government Accreditation Certificate, AA no. 2015 d. 16/06/2016
Federal Education and Science Supervision Authority License no. 2990 d. 22/10/2021
Department for Religious Education and Catechesis of Moscow Patriarchate License no. 09-5635-5 dd. 21/01/2009

Перейти к основному содержимому

Приветствие Петроса Василиадиса, почетного президента CEMES

Петрос Василиадис, почетный профессор, президент CEMES, руководитель богословской программы аспирантуры Международного греческого университета

 

Read this in English

Тепло приветствую ректора отца Георгия и весь профессорско-преподавательский состав Свято-Филаретовского православно-христианского института, а также членов моего возлюбленного Преображенского братства в Актовый день, посвящённый памяти вашего покровителя святителя Филарета, митрополита Московского.

С чувством великой радости и удовлетворения учёного я узнал, что Актовый день 19 ноября 2019 года памяти великого иерарха Русской церкви и почитаемого святого нашей Православной церкви будет посвящён его вкладу в библейское и отчасти литургическое возрождение церкви. Если в XIX веке минимальная задача ответственного пастыря и церковного руководителя заключалась в том, чтобы через перевод Библии донести до паствы слово Божье на понятном ей языке, то сегодня, в XXI веке, самое малое, что мы можем сделать для продолжения дела святителя Филарета – это заниматься развитием библейской науки.

Для возрождения жизни Православной церкви сегодня необходимо срочно сделать две вещи. Они представляют собой два важных признака, которые в принципе отличают Церковь по своей сути и природе от правового светского учреждения (как правило, плода западной схоластики) и определяют её как благодатное таинство, «тело Христово», «народ Божий» и «общение Святого Духа». К ним относятся: а) новый подход к слову Божьему, благовестию Христа, зафиксированному в Библии основанию православного богословия и жизни, предполагающий, безусловно, стремление к аутентичному пониманию и опору на достижения науки; б) раскрытие подлинного, аутентичного смысла Евхаристии. В научной сфере эти направления носят название «библейского» и «литургического» возрождения соответственно. 

Доклад Глеба Ястребова «О путях развития современной новозаветной библеистики» затрагивает один из краеугольных камней миссионерской ответственности нашей церкви – библейское возрождение. А достижения СФИ, особенно нашедшие отражение в серии конференций по современной православной экклезиологии, которые будут представлены проректором по учебной работе и нашей коллегой Ларисой Мусиной, затрагивают другой краеугольный камень – литургическое возрождение. Это особенно актуально во время, когда ваше церковное руководство практически отвергло идею даже минимального литургического возрождения в Православной церкви – перевод богослужения хотя бы в качестве вспомогательной меры, которая, безусловно, способствовала бы пониманию верующими богатства нашей литургической традиции. 

Являясь одним из переводчиков Библии на современный греческий язык, претерпев испытания и противодействие, подобные тем, которые переносил святой Филарет, участвуя в учреждении Синодальной Комиссии по литургическому возрождению Греческой церкви, я чрезвычайно почтён предложением войти в ряды членов попечительского совета СФИ. 

От имени моих коллег из Центра экуменических, миссиологических и экологических исследований (СEMES) блаженной памяти ещё одного святого иерарха и родоначальника в своем деле митрополита Фессалоникийского Пантелеймона Папагеоргиу, как руководитель межправославной программы для аспирантов в области православно-экуменического богословия (MOET), которая начнёт работу уже в весеннем семестре, в том числе по заочной форме обучения, я от всего сердца приветствую организаторов и всех участников Актового дня СФИ этого года.

Почетный профессор Петрос Василиадис
Почетный президент Центра экуменических, миссиологических и экологических исследований (СEMES)
Руководитель аспирантуры православно-экуменического богословия Международного греческого университета (MOET of IHU)
Член попечительского совета СФИ 

Подпишитесь на нашу почтовую рассылку

In English
Контакты
Социальные сети
Лицензии

Свидетельство о государственной аккредитации № 2015 от 16 июня 2016 года
Лицензия № 2051 Федеральной службы по надзору в сфере образования и науки от 01.04.2016
Представление Отдела религиозного образования и катехизации Московской Патриархии № 09-5635-5 от 21.01.2009

Все документы
Реквизиты СФИ

ИНН: 7701165500, КПП: 770101001
Код ОКТМО 45375000
ПАО Сбербанк
P/сч: 40703810838120100621
К/сч: 30101810400000000225
БИК: 044525225